Crushing on crochet 

There has been a curious amount of crocheting going on here over the last week or so. Somehow I’ve managed to get engrossed in not one, but two Crochet-Alongs (CALs); one called ‘Lilliana’ designed by Vanessa Smith of Hooked on Sunshine and the other is ‘A Spicier Life’ by Sandra of Cherry Heart.

I started both a couple of weeks late for various reasons so have been playing crochet catch up ever since…

They are both blanket patterns, Lilliana is crocheted in the round and the other is a straight back and forth row pattern.

The Spicier Life Cal is crocheted in my go-to crochet yarn, Stylecraft Special DK, it’s cheap as chips, soft, squishy and comes in a huge amount of colours. The downside is that it’s 100% acrylic, so is essentially plastic and will be around way longer than you or I.

I have to admit that Lilly is my fav (I feel awful saying that, it’s like choosing a favourite child) because I’m using the gorgoeus Eco Cotton by Nurturing Fibers as recommended in the pattern. It’s my first time making an entire blanket with cotton, partly in an attempt to wean myself off plastic and I have to say I’m pretty smitten. The colours are so pretty and the slight sheen adds to the effect; as a self confessed fibre sniffer, it smells lovely too (like sunshine I am advised).

The unfortunate thing with Cals is that you only receive a portion of the whole pattern at once, so what to do when you’re up-to-date and twiddling your thumbs waiting for the next instalment? Well start another one of course!

So to complement Lilly, I also started another Atlanticus, also by Hooked on Sunshine. I made one earlier this year, in grellow, to go on our bed.


Despite being pretty large, it didn’t take that long and is now the doggies favourite snuggle blanket.

So for this next one I’m following the pattern colours, in eight different shades of blue, green and cream in Eco Cotton. It’s working up beautifully and looks very different from my original one.


If you’d like to keep up with my progress, I regularly share photos via Instagram

See you again soon

6 thoughts on “Crushing on crochet 

  1. yarnandpencil

    These are all very yummy indeed. I’ve never participated in a CAL. I will one day. I know what you mean about using acrylic yarns. I buy it because that is what I can afford. I’ve been spinning a lot though trying to increase my woollen yarn stash and I try and buy cotton and bamboo rather than the plastic but it is difficult at times.

    Reply
    1. weavingheart Post author

      Yes, the price of acrylic is very attractive, I’m in a similar position. I think spinning is a good plan! Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment

      Reply

Leave a Reply

